Loch Garry, work in progress – defeat

lochgarryWIP_02_tracy_butler
I’m too ashamed to show you the latest version #utterlyhumiliated

Yes, this is the painting I wrote a post about in my last post, and it just hasn’t worked.  And I’m so hacked off, I can’t face trying to solve it’s problems for the moment. I also think it’s too awful to show you at the moment.  Colours are garish, the sky is blotchy, clouds are nondescript, the loch is flat and uninteresting and the shades I used when preparing the background just aren’t shining through – I think that’s enough for now.  There is nothing more frustrating than working on a painting and not liking it.

I am feeling both defeated and deflated, but it won’t last long.  I’ll start working on the Loch Garry painting again (no idea when though), and suddenly, out of nowhere, it’ll start to work, and everything will be rosy, birds will be singing and I’ll accept that I can still paint after all.

That’s what I hope, anyway.

Leave a Reply

