Painting over an old painting – 3

It really has been ages since I have added anything to my blog, but what with glorious sunshine and then the school summer holidays, I have been somewhat distracted. Part of that distraction was the need to be outside painting simply because I could.  There has been lots going on too, so I hope to fill you in over the next wee while.

In the meantime, though, I thought I should finish the posts about the painting below. It is a continuation of the painting I was working on a while back – here are the links stage 1 and stage 2.

The painting is coming along, I think.

I want to darken the land on the right, bring more definition into the sea. The clouds need more work, softening parts of them and introducing more whispy bits (technical term). The sunset behind the island needs more thought.

Tomorrow, I’ll sit for a while and have a good look before I do anything, because not seeing the painting over night often helps me to work out my next steps.

MorarAtSunset_tracy_butler_02
Stage 3
2 thoughts on “Painting over an old painting – 3

Leave a Reply

