Bluebells at Culzean, WIP – 1

BluebellsAtCulzean_tracy_butler_01
Stage 1

I thought I would show you a painting at a number of different stages from start to finish.  It is of a bluebell wood at Culzean Castle in Scotland, which I photographed last spring.  I tend to work in watercolour and gouache very much my own way, breaking rules right, left and centre, but it works for me.

The painting is gouache on watercolour paper, and as the painting was going to be mainly green (despite the subject being bluebells), I covered the whole of the background in a contrasting purple (my favourite colour, by the way).  I then sketched out the image using a pastel pencil and began to block in shadows, with hints of the green foliage that was yet to come.

One thought on “Bluebells at Culzean, WIP – 1

Leave a Reply

